Hopefully leaving the hospital…

Background: My 29 year old daughter (who is my youngest) called me on Friday afternoon/evening crying in extreme pain and having extreme vomiting to go along with it. I was out at the time, and told her I would call her when I got home (I was less than 5 minutes away). My son and I thought it was serious so I called her and told her that I was taking her to the ER and be ready. I ended up taking her to Soin Medical Center. After doing labs and a CT, the dr informed us (also showing the CT imaging) that she had a 25cm mass in her pelvic region. After 2 ultrasounds and moving her to a holding room in the ER, an ob/gyn dr (who is amazing, btw), stated she thought it was a cyst and needed to come out. By this time we had spent the night and it was early Saturday. They managed to schedule surgery (hopefully laparoscopic, with one larger incision to remove all tissue) with a few hours. Surgery was a success, they removed the cyst which was twisted in several places that contained over 5 liters of fluid, along with her left ovary and Fallopian tube which it was attached to.

The dr said that the remaining parts, right ovary, Fallopian tube, and uterus are all good and she shouldn’t have any problems. She’s also able to get pregnant if she so chooses. So that’s a good thing. The dr also thanked ME for bringing her in when I did, she said it could have been life threatening.

Which brings us to now. The hospitalist said as long as the ob/gyn dr says it’s okay, we can bust out of here!! So now we’re waiting for her or a colleague to come visit so we can go to my house! She is getting up and moving around even with pain and the pain meds help keep it down.

She gets to break out of here!! Follow up in 2 weeks! Yay!!! Waiting for discharge instructions!

Leave a comment